GATESHEAD METROPOLITAN BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL MEETING

Thursday, 22 September 2016

PRESENT: THE MAYOR COUNCILLOR A THOMPSON (CHAIR)

Councillors: J Adams, R Beadle, C Bradley, M Brain, B Clelland, P Craig, D Davidson, W Dick, S Dickie, K Dodds, C Donovan, A Douglas, D Duggan, John Eagle, K Ferdinand, M Gannon, A Geddes, B Goldsworthy, T Graham, J Green, L Green, S Green, G Haley, S Hawkins, M Hood, H Hughes, J Kielty, L Kirton, J Lee, P Maughan, K McCartney, J McClurey, J McElroy, C McHatton, E McMaster, P Mole, R Mullen, B Oliphant, C Ord, S Ronchetti,

J Turnbull, L Twist, J Wallace and A Wheeler

APOLOGIES: Councillors: P Dillon, L Caffrey, M Charlton, S Craig, M Foy, P Foy,

M Goldsworthy, J Graham, M Hall, M Henry, C McHugh, P McNally,

M McNestry, M Ord, I Patterson, C Simcox, J Simpson and

N Weatherley

CL32 HONORARY ALDERMEN OF THE BOROUGH

On the motion of Councillor M Gannon, duly seconded:

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council, under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1972, hereby confers the title of Honorary Alderman upon the following former councillors in recognition of their eminent service to the Council:

- Brian Coates (1996 2016)
- John Hamilton (2000 2016)
- Ian Mearns (1983 2010)
- Joe Mitchinson (1996 2014)
- Pat Ronan (1994 2016)

And accordingly admits the above former councillors to be Honorary Aldermen.